IMG_6153.JPG

Sorry I didn’t post last weeks muffin. Here is my latest recipe. I love peanut butter and so do my kids, so I made PB&J muffins which has everyone smiling! Note: I always use a jam sweetened with fruit juice only. I personally love St. Dalfour jams.

INGREDIENTS

1 1/2 cups organic whole wheat flour

1/2 cup spelt light flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 cup dark brown sugar

1/4 cup honey

1 1/2 cups bananas – mashed

1/2 banana sliced for top

2 tbsp oil – safflower, coconut

1 large organic egg

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/4 cup natural peanut butter

1/2 cup milk – organic, unsweetened almond, soy

DIRECTIONS

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line and spray a 12 cup muffin tray or use silicone cups. In a bowl mix together flours, baking soda, baking powder and sea salt. Set aside. In another bowl mix mashed bananas, sugar, honey, oil, egg, vanilla and peanut butter. Stir in half the dry ingredients into wet mixture and then half the milk into the batter, alternating between the two. Scoop batter into muffin cups not completely to the top so you can add the jam and then a little bit more batter. Garnish with a sliced banana and bake for 25-30 minutes. Remove tray from oven and let sit for a few minutes and transfer to a cooling rack for another 10 minutes. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

