I am a scone fan. Whenever I’m at a coffee house I look at them and will sometimes buy one. I don’t always indulge because they are full of butter, but when I do, there is nothing like it! I have never made them so I decided that there is no time like the present to see how they turn out. I was very pleased with the results and so was my family.

INGREDIENTS

2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup spelt light flour

1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp cane sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

3/4 tsp sea salt

1/2 cup cold butter cut into pieces

3/4 cup buttermilk or regular milk with tsp lemon juice

1 egg yolk

1 1/2 cups of berries of choice fresh or frozen

note: make sure to rinse and drain frozen berries before using them

DIRECTIONS

Pre-heat oven to 400. Line a tray with parchment paper. In a food processor place flour, 1 cup sugar, baking powder and salt. Mix for 30 seconds using the pulse button. Add butter into the mixture and continue pulsing until combined. In a separate bowl add buttermilk and egg yolk. Whisk for a few seconds. Slowly add egg mixture through the feed tube into flour mixture. Pulse until it forms into a ball. Put extra flour on counter surface and take out the dough from food processor. Roll dough out and add berries. Fold in berries and knead a few times. Form the dough into 1″ thick and 2 ” wide square pieces. Place on tray about 1 1/2″ apart. Sprinkle remaining sugar and bake for 18 minutes or until done. Let cool off on tray for 5 minutes and then transfer to cooling rack. Enjoy!image

 

