image

 

School is officially here! I always like to make muffins for school or for an afternoon snack. It makes me happy knowing my kids are eating healthy foods instead of something packaged. This way I know how much sugar and fat are in the recipe. This recipe is inspired by Dafne Oz, but I changed some of the ingredients like coconut oil which my girls don’t love in baked goods. The original recipe also called for 1/2 cup of wheat germ. I didn’t have a substitute, so I added an extra tablespoon of flaxseeds.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup oil

1/4 cup brown sugar

3-4 medium bananas, mashed

2 tbsp unsweetened apple sauce

1 tsp pure vanilla

1/4 cup water

2 eggs, beaten

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

3 tbsp ground flaxseed

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 cup white and dark chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line and spray muffin tins.

In a bowl cream together sugar and oil. Add bananas, applesauce, vanilla and water. Mix until blended. Beat in eggs.

In a separate bowl whisk flour, cocoa powder, flaxseed, baking soda and salt. Add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredient. Mix until blended. Add in chocolate chips.

Spoon batter into muffin cups. Bake for 15 minutes or until centre is firm to touch. Place muffins on cooling rack for approx. 5 minutes. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

